Not dead

As much as I’m sure there’s a good number of people out there wishing that I was, I’m not dead. I’ve just been busy. In week five of a twelve week quarter I had my server go down and it rendered me unable to do some school work that was rather crucial to my final grade. I wasn’t able to get the part to fix the server until week nine. So I’ve been pretty swamped trying to catch up on school work in some classes, and trying to stay on top of it in others. Luckily I passed, and since I passed I won’t have my financial aid revoked; which means that I still get to be a college student. Hooray for me.

I turned twenty-three last month, and one of my gifts was a fancy little netbook. It’s easy to carry around, and the keys make these nifty little tapping sounds when I type so I’ve been doing a bit more writing. I took on a few different projects over the last couple of weeks, but with trying to catch up and finals last week I really didn’t put a whole bunch of time into working on them.

I’ve got another album review scheduled to appear in the next issue of Line Zero. It’s going to be on
Gypsy Revival
, a band that I met when I was at Indiana Beach last summer. They’re pretty bitchin’ so give them a listen and be sure to check out the next issue of LZ for a review of their EP and a text interview with the band.

I’ve also started writing a new short story for what I’ve started calling the Something and Silver Bullets short stories. It’s the third installment. The second one was never published anywhere due to the fact that I wasn’t really satisfied with it, and it needs a lot of revising. I still haven’t finished the one I’m working on yet. Every time I sit down to finish it I find myself staring down at my keyboard a few hours later with a whole bunch more words and I’m still not done. This is my longest short story yet, I’m pretty satisfied with it so far, and after I’ve sent it out to some beta readers I’ll polish it up and you’ll see it on the blog. Just so you know however, the S&S shorts aren’t really arranged in any particular order. The first two are in chronological order, but I have a feeling that a lot of stuff happened between that last story and this one, so for future reference; the stories don’t have any particular order to them, just whenever I get an idea that I can write into the universe I use it. If I ever write enough of these things for an anthology I’ll figure out what order they all go in, but until then; I’m not going to worry about it.

Aside from that short story and my review for LZ I’m planning on either writing or submitting old shorts to Flagship, and Abattoir. My good buddy and sometimes nemesis Scott Roche Has a hand in Flying Island Press and its imprints so I’m going to try my hand at submitting things there.

Scott also slid me a beta copy of his newest book to read through so I’ll be writing a review for that, and you’ll find it on this blog as well as other places around the neterwebz sometime in mid April.

I’m pretty sure I’ve got everything covered. I just recently set up a profile over at Smashwords. I haven’t filled out any of the information or uploaded any of my work yet, but you can keep checking back and I’ll post up on the blog when something is available there just in case you feel like giving me money.

That’s really all I have to say for now, I hope everybody is having a good week so far and I’ll keep updating about my various irons in the fire.

0 Responses to “Not dead”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Archives

March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Powered by FeedBurner

Eldon's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists