You just don’t fuck with a Dawsey – A book review of Scott Sigler’s “Contagious”

This review was supposed to be written and posted near the end of December. Read the post preceding this to find hear my lame excuse of why it hasn’t been written until now.

At first I was a little leery about using an expletive in the title of this post, but then I remembered what Scott Sigler says in the disclaimer for his podcasts. So it’s all good.

I’ve been listening to Scott Sigler’s podcasts for quite some time now and I quickly became hooked. I became one of Sigler’s “Junkies”. I jumped at the opportunity to review his newest book. Contagious is the sequel to his bestselling hardcover release from Crown Publishing “Infected”.

Contagious Synopsis taken from Sigler’s website:

“Across America, a mysterious pathogen transforms ordinary people into raging killers, psychopaths driven by a terrifying, alien agenda. The human race fights back, yet after every battle the disease responds, adapts, using sophisticated strategies and brilliant ruses to fool its pursuers. The only possible explanation: the epidemic is driven not by evolution but by some malevolent intelligence.

Standing against this unimaginable threat is a small group, assembled under the strictest secrecy. Their best weapon is hulking former football star Perry Dawsey, left psychologically shattered by his own struggles with this terrible enemy, who possesses an unexplainable ability to locate the disease’s hosts. Violent and unpredictable, Perry is both the nation’s best hope and a terrifying liability. Hardened CIA veteran Dew Phillips must somehow forge a connection with him if they’re going to stand a chance against this maddeningly adaptable opponent. Alongside them is Margaret Montoya, a brilliant epidemiologist who fights for a cure even as she reels under the weight of endless horrors.

These three and their team have kept humanity in the game, but that’s not good enough anymore, not when the disease turns contagious, triggering a fast countdown to Armageddon. Meanwhile, other enemies join the battle, and a new threat — one that comes from a most unexpected source — may ultimately prove the most dangerous of all.”

I was very eager to crack this story open and devour it as fast as I could. After opening the box it was shipped in. I did not put the book down for the week it took me to read it. I could have finished the book in a day’s time. But Scott is one of my favorite novelists and I wanted to read his book at a slower pace. To treat it as fine cuisine. To savor it, enjoy it, soak up every single word and let the story wash over me in a warming sensation.

I was almost dissapointed to finish the novel, because now I’m hungry for more of the story and I have to wait now, like everyone else, for the third installment.

At first I wasn’t sure why the book was given it’s title. For the first part of the story I saw nothing about the disease being contagious. But when I finally discovered how this disease had evolved I gasped and jumped out of my seat so hard that the book almost flew across the room. And as with all of Sigler’s stories the characters have such a depth that you feel as if you know them. And the wordplay and dialogue between them would make you want to take them out for drinks after work, or simply knock out their teeth. But another thing you learn from Scott’s work, is that you shouldn’t get too attached to the characters.

Scott Sigler’s “Contagious” was a page turning amalgamation of horror, suspense, and hard science that had me at the edge of my seat and afraid of turning off the lights. I was guessing until the very last page, and made me feel concerned about every bump, mark, rash, and itch I had for weeks after finishing the novel.

In short you need to pick up a copy of this book. It’s one of the best things I’ve read in a very long time.

But as usual, I’m drawing a blank so I’ll see you next time.

1 Response to “You just don’t fuck with a Dawsey – A book review of Scott Sigler’s “Contagious””


  1. 1 Scott Sigler March 28, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Glad you liked it! Awesome I could make you jump out of the chair.


Leave a Reply

Archives

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Powered by FeedBurner

Eldon's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

